Skip to main content

It is with great pleasure that we welcome the following individuals to the third cohort of the NC Native Leadership Institute (NLI)!


Ashley McMillan

Aleshia Hunt

Ashley Patrick Lomboy

Coty Sutherland

Crystal A Cavalier

J.D. Arch

James N Bradley

Jessica Anstead

Jessica Lambert Ward

Jonathan Caudill

Karen Bird

LeAnn Strickland Melvin

Monica Wildcatt

Olivia Marie Blankenship

Quinn West Godwin

Seth Oxendine

Susan H Archbell

Chavella Taylor

Tonya Elizabeth Carroll

Ty Bushyhead Boyd


This year’s review process was highly competitive. We were fortunate to have received over 50 applications and at the same time challenged with the task of narrowing those applications down to 20 participants.  This was a difficult task.

To share a little about the process, the American Indian Center invited interested board members to serve on a review committee for the NLI. The review committee consisted of Native and non-Native board members.  The board members evaluated each application based on evidence of awareness of their definition of leadership and a consistent desire to learn and serve tribal nations and communities.  In addition, we asked the board members to take into consideration tribal, age, educational, and leadership diversity.

We are honored to name the 2017 NLI Cohort members, and look forward to the beginning of the trainings in October.  Please contact Christina Theodorou at for further questions or more information on the Institute.

Comments are closed.