Skip to main content

We are fortunate at Carolina to have an Advisory Board that plays a fundamental role in our efforts to bridge the richness of North Carolina’s American Indian cultures with the strengths of Carolina’s research, education and service.  The 2018-19 AIC Advisory Board consists of 22 members representing a diverse range of expertise, backgrounds and communities.

The duties of the Advisory Board are:

  • to provide advice related to present and proposed programs and activities as each relates to student scholarship, research and dissemination, tribal community engagement and campus community engagement;
  • to provide a channel of communication between the campus community and the American Indian Center;
  • to help build important ties and connections between the Center and the University community, as well as funders;
  • to assist in the solicitation, cultivation, and stewardship of external and internal support not covered by the state budget; and
  • to offer a campus-wide voice to the University administration related to the mission, needs, directions and activities of the Center.
  • to serve as an advisor to the American Indian Center on marketing materials and fundraising programing;
  • to share with others the Center and University’s  commitment to American Indians;
  •  to facilitate communications between the Center and other key partners;
  •  to serve as an ambassador of the American Indian Center by attending or engaging students at Center or University sponsored events;
  • to join with other friends and Advisory Board members to host events promoting the Center and its engagement with Native communities; and
  •  to contribute through the dedication of time, talents, or treasures to the Center’s development.

We are thankful to the following individuals for their service on the Advisory Board.

Dr. Ronny Bell (Chair, Department of Public Health, East Carolina University)

Dr. Lynn Blanchard (Director, Carolina Center for Public Service)

Dr. Iris Carlton-LaNey (Berg-Beach Distinguished Professor, UNC School of Social Work)

Mr. Dante Desiderio (Executive Director, Native American Finance Officers Association)

Ms. Nora Dial-Stanley (Project Manager, Information Technology Services, UNC Greensboro)

Mr. Chris Faison

Professor Ben Frey (Assistant Professor, UNC Department of American Studies)

Ms. Melinda Kaiser (Project Coordinator, Cardinal Innovations Healthcare Solutions)

Dr. Alex Lightfoot (Research Assistant Professor, UNC Department of Health Behavior)

Mr. John Lowery (Regional Operations Director, Southeast Workforce)

Dr. Priscilla Maynor (Founder & Principal, ImaginED Partners)

Ms. Meredith McCoy (Co-President, First Nations Graduate Circle)

Mr. John Parker (Independent Community Development Consultant & Organizer)

Mr. Greg Richardson (Executive Director, NC Commission of Indian Affairs)

Mr. Earl Evans (Tribal Council Member, Haliwa-Saponi Indian Tribe)

Mr. James Bradley (Program Manager, Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians Higher Education & Training)

Ms. Vivette Jeffries-Logan (Founder & Principal, Biwa Consulting)

Ms. Genevieve Lowery Cole (UNC Alumna, Lumbee Tribe of NC)

Mr. AC Locklear

Dr. Jim Herrington (Professor of the Practice, UNC Department of Health Behavior)

Mr. Michael Davis (Associate Director for Recruitment, UNC Admissions)

Professor Keith Richotte (Assistant Professor, UNC Department of American Studies)